School Ethics Commission Meeting Public Session Minutes

March 17, 2020 Special Meeting

Chairperson Robert Bender called the meeting of the School Ethics Commission (Commission) to order at 11:04 a.m.

Notice of the meeting was provided to the State House Press Corps and the Secretary of State and filed as required by the Open Public Meetings Act.

I. Roll Call

Roll Call	Robert Bender	Michael Carucci	Michael Collins	Mark Finkelstein	Dennis Roberts	Jude A. Tanella	Richard Tomko	Total
Present	X	X	X	X	X	X	X	7
Absent								0

Also in attendance were Kathryn Whalen, Director, Offices of School Ethics and Compliance (via telephone), staff member Jeannine Pizzigoni, and Deputy Attorney General (DAG) Jaclyn Frey (via telephone).

II. Executive Session

At 11:06 a.m., the following **Resolution** was read:

Whereas, the Open Public Meetings Act (*N.J.S.A.* 10:4-6 *et seq.*) authorizes the Commission, a public body, to meet in Executive Session under certain circumstances; and

Whereas, the Open Public Meetings Act requires that the Commission adopt a Resolution at a public meeting to go into Executive Session; and

Now therefore be it resolved that, consistent with the provisions of *N.J.A.C.* 10:4-12(b), the Commission will adjourn to executive session to discuss matters which, by statute, are regarded as confidential and also to discuss matters possibly involving litigation, specifically C09-15; C40-15, C05-16, C31-15, and C43-15 (Consolidated); C67-19; and C48-18; and

Now therefore be it further resolved that the Commission will return to open session to conduct business at the conclusion of Executive Session.

Motion was made by Dennis Roberts, and seconded by Jude Tanella, to adjourn to Executive Session to discuss the matters set forth in the foregoing Resolution.

Vote

Vote	Robert Bender	Michael Carucci	Michael Collins	Mark Finkelstein	Dennis Roberts	Jude A. Tanella	Richard Tomko	Total
Yes	X	X	X	X	X	X	X	7
No								0
Abstention								0

III. Return to Public

At **11:49 a.m.**, a motion was made by Mark Finkelstein, and seconded by Richard Tomko, to return to public session for the purpose of receiving public comment/testimony.

Vote

Vote	Robert Bender	Michael Carucci	Michael Collins	Mark Finkelstein	Dennis Roberts	Jude A. Tanella	Richard Tomko	Total
Yes	X	X	X	X	X	X	X	7
No								0
Abstention								0

IV. Complaints to Review

C09-15 Motion was made by Mark Finkelstein, and seconded by Dennis Roberts, to draft a decision as discussed.

Vote

Vote	Robert Bender	Michael Carucci	Michael Collins	Mark Finkelstein	Dennis Roberts	Jude A. Tanella	Richard Tomko	Total
Yes	X	X	X	X	X	X	X	7
No								0
Abstention								0

C40-15, C05-16, C31-15 and C43-15 (Consolidated) Motion was made by Jude Tanella, and seconded by Richard Tomko, to draft a decision as discussed.

Vote

Vote	Robert Bender	Michael Carucci	Michael Collins	Mark Finkelstein	Dennis Roberts	Jude A. Tanella	Richard Tomko	Total
Yes	X	X			X	X	X	6
No								0
Abstention			X					1

C67-19 Motion was made by Richard Tomko, and seconded by Mark Finkelstein, to draft a decision as discussed.

Vote

Vote	Robert Bender	Michael Carucci	Michael Collins	Mark Finkelstein	Dennis Roberts	Jude A. Tanella	Richard Tomko	Total
Yes	X	X	X	X	X	X	X	7
No								0
Abstention								0

V. Decisions to Adopt as Written

C48-18 Motion was made by Dennis Roberts, and seconded by Jude Tanella, to adopt the decision with edits.

Vote

Vote	Robert Bender	Michael Carucci	Michael Collins	Mark Finkelstein	Dennis Roberts	Jude A. Tanella	Richard Tomko	Total
Yes	X	X	X		X	X	X	6
No								0
Abstention				X				1

VI. Adjournment

At 11:52 a.m., a motion was made by Richard Tomko, and seconded by Dennis Roberts, to adjourn.

Vote

Vote	Robert Bender	Michael Carucci	Michael Collins	Mark Finkelstein	Dennis Roberts	Jude A. Tanella	Richard Tomko	Total
Yes	X	X	X	X	X	X	X	7
No								0
Abstention								0

Submitted by:
Jeannine Pizzigoni
Approved by:
Kathryn A. Whalen, Director